Waffling About Brussels (Brussels Part VI) 

This is the sixth post about my Brussels trip (the first can be found here). I thought I’d use it to briefly mention a few of the things that I got up to on my last day. 

First up was the Centre Belge de la Bande Dessinée (Belgian Comic Strip Centre). Cartoons are massive in Belgium. Asterix, the Smurfs and Tintin are all famous Belgian creations, alongside many others. This worldwide success and adulation is honoured in the Belgian Comic Strip Centre. On my last morning I decided to take a look. The museum features over 5,000 original drawings and a whole section dedicated to the infamous Tintin. It was this section that I enjoyed the most. I used to love reading Tintin books as a kid. I couldn’t help laughing as I walked around and was reminded of the hilarious antics of Tintin, Snowy, Captain Haddock and Thompson and Thomson, and for the rest of the day everything that surprised me aroused a response of “Blistering Barnacles!” I think I might have to look into buying some of the books. 

There are also a few murals dotted around the city if you can find them: 

Next I was off to Koekelberg Basilica (Basilica of the Sacred Heart). It’s an Art Deco church that’s the fifth largest in the world. I actually made it there by accident. I had hoped to pay it a visit, but wasn’t sure where it was. It was situated beyond the scope of my map. I didn’t want to risk going “off-piste” on my last day as I had a train to catch. Instead there was an interesting looking church situated right at the end of the major road near my hostel. Due to the road being incredibly long and straight road there was no way I could get lost, so I decided to pay a visit. As it turned out, that was Basilica of the Sacred Heart, which was convenient.  

DSCN1659

The other thing beyond my map that I had hoped to visit was the Atomium. It’s a building erected for the 1958 World Fair. It’s built in the shape of a molecule’s nine atoms but magnified 165 billion times. The nine spheres are linked by escalators and contain a museum. It also possesses a venue for special events. It’s become something of a symbol of the city. This is unsurprising as it’s massive. It’s so huge that it can be seen from quite a distance, which I soon realised.  

I initially had no idea where the Atomium was, but as I left the Basilica of the Sacred Heart I was pleasantly surprised to see it over some buildings. It looked like it wasn’t too far away, so I decided to take a stroll over. This “stroll” turned into quite a trek as the Atomium kept appearing “just over those houses”. Clearly I underestimated how big it is. It was so big that when peeking over the tops of buildings it looked like it was nearby when in fact it was actually still very far away. I must have walked for over forty minutes. 

Like I say it’s pretty big: 

DSCN1662

Unsurprisingly, the inside offers some panoramic view of Brussels, but I’d read that it wasn’t really worth the 11E entrance fee. And after taking so long to get there, time wasn’t on my side, so I walked back while carefully re-tracing my steps. After not wanting to go “off-piste” I’d actually gone very, very off-piste. But I’d taken note of street names to make sure I didn’t get lost. Thankfully, I made it back okay and got to the train station with plenty of time.  

About lanceleuven


3 responses to “Waffling About Brussels (Brussels Part VI) 

  • Quieter Elephant

    Ah… The Thompson Twins… 80’s pop never dies – it just gets more embarrassing. I could never understand why there were three of them in the group.
    As a kid I had to read Asterix in Latin at school! The jokes are a lot easier in English though. And it helped my vocabulary. Things like trying to understand why Cacophonix was funny. Look it up and suddenly it’s obvious. New word safely lodged in youthful brain. Education, I think it’s called. 🙂

    Like

    • lanceleuven

      You just sent me off to investigate Cacophonix now. 🙂

      I used to enjoy Asterix when I was young too. Though I think my enjoyment might have been tempered somewhat if I had to read in in Latin. But then my enjoyment of Latin might have increased somewhat by getting to read Asterix. Swings and roundabouts I suppose!

      Like

  • Suzanne

    I enjoyed the BD museum as well, though none of the cartoon chracters were part of my growing up. I knew about Tintin but only learned about Asterix et. al. as a grown-up. The closest I got to the Atomium was a walk past when I went to a sporting event at the nearby stadium and got myself lost trying to find a different tram station than I’d landed at earlier in the day. These cities look so much more compact on paper than they are in real life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

